Sixth Form Alumni Evening

Just before Christmas former Sixth Form students of The Urswick School joined current members of our Sixth Form Academy for an evening of celebration. We celebrated the fifth anniversary of the opening of the Sixth Form and were joined by students for all of our past year groups.

At the start of our Sixth Form in 2012, Mr Brown announced that the two highest performing students would have trophies named after them for ‘Academic Excellence in the Sixth Form.’ In 2014 these trophies were named after Dilek Yener and Javaughn McNeish. Both have now graduated from university, Javaughn having achieved a 2:1 in Law for Sussex University and Dilek from Queen Mary University studying chemistry.

Javaughn is now studying for a Master’s Degree. Dilek is aiming to become a teacher and has been working in our Science department on a voluntary basis. Both were at the Alumni event to present the trophies named after them.

The Dilek Yener Trophy was awarded to Kanesha Edwards-Taylor who is now studying Psychology at Queen Mary University. Last summer Kanesha achieved A* grades in ‘A’ Level Law and Sociology and an A grade in Psychology. The Javaugh McNeish Trophy was awarded to Anil Suyur who is studying Political Economy at King’s College, London. Last summer Anil’s ‘A’ Level results were A* in A Level Sociology, A in Economics, and double distinction in BTEC diploma ICT.

It was a pleasure to welcome back other former student’s from last year including John Herbert, now studying Computer Science and Mathematics at Queen Mary, Qamar Merchant-Read, studying Acting for Film at Chichester. In their second year at university are Demi-Foster, studying Media and Culture and Criminology at the University of Worcester and Amy Johns studying American and English Literature at the University of Kent. In total about 30 Alumni were able to join us.

Our current year 13’s have already received many university offers and were keen to find out all about university life from The Urswick Alumni.

The Dilek Yener Trophy – Past Winners

2014- Dilek Yener

2015-Yasmin Hanson

2016- Latoya Okuneye

2017- Kanesha Edwards-Taylor


The Javaughn McNeish Trophy- Past Winners

2014- Javaughn McNeish 

2015-Ibrahim Ganidagli

2016- Tuan Ta

2017- Anil Suyur 

View Images